Khalid alBalooshi – Al-Anabi Racing Top Fuel Driver

Residence: Los Angeles, CA 
Hometown: Dubai, UAE
Date of Birth: July 27, 1979
Crew Chief: Jason McCulloch
Al-Anabi Racing Team Owner: His Excellency Sheik Khalid Bin Hamad Al Thani
Alan Johnson Racing Owner: Alan Johnson
2014 wins/final rounds: 2/4 (.500)
Career wins/final rounds: 4/8 (.500)
Career No. 1 qualifiers: 0
Career-best points finish: 8th (2013)
Countdown to the Championship NHRA Playoffs appearances: 1 (2013, '14))
First professional start: Pomona1, 2012
Career-best elapsed time:  3.735 seconds (Reading, 2012)  
Career-best speed: 328.46 mph (Reading, 2012)  


Marital Status: Married
Children: Two- Ages seven and five
Height/Weight: 5’, 7” / 170 lbs
Hobbies: Fishing, swimming, working on cars
Notable: Has driven Pro Mod cars in NHRA, American Drag Racing League and Arabian Drag Racing League while driving for Al-Anabi Racing; had 158 career race wins prior to moving to the Al-Anabi Racing Top Fuel team in late 2011. 


  • 2014:  Drove gold Al-Anabi Racing Team Top Fuel dragster for third-consecutive season with Jason McCulloch as crew chief; won two Top Fuel races in the same season for the first time in his career taking top honors at season-opening Circle K Winternationals and Sonoma NHRA Nationals in July; also posted two runner-up finishes; defeated his teammate in Sonoma final round; tied career-best Top Fuel points finish with eighth-place showing; raced in Traxxas Nitro Shootout at Indianapolis for second-consecutive year.
  • 2013:  Drove gold Al-Anabi Racing team Top Fuel dragster for second-consecutive season with Jason McCulloch serving as crew chief; finished career-best eighth in final NHRA Mello Yello Top Fuel point standings; won race in Norwalk, Ohio and raced to two additional final-round appearances; made first appearance in Traxxas Nitro Shootout at Indianapolis; competed in five-race Arabian Drag Racing League season in Qatar winning one Pro Mod race.
  • 2012:  Made difficult transition from Pro Mod Champion to Top Fuel driver in Al-Anabi Racing's gold Top Fuel car; won first race during Countdown to the Championship NHRA Playoffs becoming first Middle Eastern driver and just third driver from outside North America to win in NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series; finished 11th in the final Top Fuel points standings, the highest possible finish after missing the Countdown.
  • 2011:  Won 2011 NHRA Get Screened America Pro Mod championship winning races at Gainesville and Las Vegas clinching the title at the season’s final race in Las Vegas; won Arabian Drag Racing League Pro Mod championship in Qatar winning five of the season’s seven races. 
  • 2010:  Won Arabian Drag Racing League Pro Mod championship in Qatar winning four of the season’s eight races. 
  • 2009: Won American Drag Racing League Pro Mod championship winning one race in the season’s 10 races.   
  • 2008: Drove Pro Mod car in the Emirates Motor Club in Dubai winning four races.
  • 2007: Drove Pro Mod car in the Emirates Motor Club winning five races.
  • 2006: Drove Pro Mod car in the Emirates Motor Club winning five races; won Super Street 8, Super Street 7.5, Super Street 6 and Pro Mod Championships.  
  • 2005: Won super Street championship at Emerites Motor Club after winning first career race. 
  • 2004: Drove Super Street 6 and Super Street 8
  • 2003: Drove Super Street 6
  • 2002: Drove Super Street 6
  • 2001: Made first start as a race car driver Drove Super Street 6; owned Speed Shop performing minor mechanical tasks and tuning engines. 


Year No. Races Pts. Fin. Won R/U Semi. Qtr. 1st Rd. No. 1 Qfy. DNQ Round W-L
2014 24  8 2 2 2 7 11 0 0 23-22
2013 24  8 1 2 4 7  9 0 1 25-22
2012 23 11 1 0 1 8 13 0 0 14-22
Total 71 4 4 7 22 34 0 1 62-66


Year No. Races Won R/U Semi. Qtr. 1st Rd. No. 1 Qfy. DNQ Round W-L
2014 6 0 1 0 2 3 0 0 5-6
2013 6 0 1 1 0 4 0 1 3-5
Total 6 0 2 1 2 7 0 1 8-11

Career Top Fuel Final-Round Record

Pomona1 winner (Doug Kalitta)
Houston runner-up (Antron Brown)
Sonoma winner (Shawn Langdon)
Charlotte2 runner-up (Tony Schumacher)

Englishtown Runner-Up (Shawn Langdon)
Norwalk winner (Doug Kalitta)
St. Louis Runner-Up (Antron Brown)

Reading winner (Antron Brown)